USA – Arteriosclerosis, Thrombosis, and Vascular Biology Council American Heart Association

COUNCIL ON ARTERIOSCLEROSIS, THROMBOSIS & VASCULAR BIOLOGY (ATVB)
2015-2016 ATVB LEADERSHIP COMMITTEE

 

Kathryn J. Moore, PhD FAHA
Associate Professor of Medicine
The Leon H. Charney Division of Cardiology
Marc and Ruti Bell Program for Vascular Biology & Disease
New York University Medical Center
522 First Avenue, Smilow 705
New York, NY 10016
USA

Email: kathryn.moore@nyumc.org
Phone: (212) 263-9259

 

Steven R. Lentz, MD PhD FAHA
Henry Hamilton Chair in Hematology
Director, Medical Scientist Training Program
Director, Division of Hematology, Oncology, and Blood & Marrow Transplantation
The University of Iowa Carver College of Medicine
200 Hawkins Drive
Iowa City, IA 52242
USA

Email: steven-lentz@uiowa.edu
Phone: (319) 356-4048
Assistant: Erin Thompson
Assistant Email: erin-m-thompson@uiowa.edu

MEMBERS

 

Kerry-Anne Rye, PhD FAHA
Head of Cardiovascular Research
Lipid Research Group
School of Medical Sciences
Faculty of Medicine
University of New South Wales Australia
Sydney, NSW 2052
AUSTRALIA

Email: k.rye@unsw.edu.au
Alternate Email: karye@ozemail.com.au
Phone: +61 2 9385 1219

 

Chantal M. Boulanger, PhD
Molecular Pharmacology, Strasbourg University
INSERM Research Director
Paris Cardiovascular Research Center
56 rue Leblanc
75373 Paris Cedex 15
FRANCE

Email: chantal.boulanger@inserm.fr

 

Katey Rayner, PhD
Assistant Professor
Director, Cardiometabolic microRNA Laboratory
University of Ottawa Heart Institute
40 Ruskin Street, H4211
Ottawa, ON K1Y 4W7
CANADA

Email: krayner@ottawaheart.ca
Phone: (613) 761-5283

 

Shobha Ghosh, PhD, FAHA
Professor of Medicine and Physiology
Associate Chair for Research
Department of Internal Medicine
VCU Medical Center
Room 6050, MMRB
1220 E. Broad Street
Richmond, VA 23298-0050
USA

Email: shobha@vcu.edu
Phone: (804) 827-1012

 

Philip S. Tsao, PhD FAHA
Associate Chief of Staff for Research and Development, VA Palo Alto Health Care System
3801 Miranda Avenue; Building 101, #A2-141
Palo Alto, CA 94304
Professor, Medicine (Cardiovascular Medicine)
Stanford University School of Medicine
300 Pasteur Drive; Falk CVRB 267
Stanford, CA 94305-5406
USA

Email: ptsao@stanford.edu
Phone: (650) 493-5000 x62991

 

Alan Daugherty, PhD DSc FAHA
Senior Associate Dean of Research
Professor of Medicine & Physiology
Director, Cardiovascular Research Center
University of Kentucky
B-243 BBSRB Building
741 S. Limestone Street
Lexington, KY 40536-0509
USA

Email: alan.daugherty@uky.edu
Phone: (859) 323-3512
Assistant: Tanya L Graf
Assistant Email: tanya.graf@uky.edu
Assistant Phone: (859) 323-3467

 

Jordan D. Miller, PhD
Assistant Professor
Departments of Surgery and Physiology
Mayo Clinic and Foundation
Division of Cardiovascular Surgery
200 First Street SW
Rochester, MN 55905
USA

Email: miller.jordan@mayo.edu
Phone: (507) 255-7621

 

Francine K. Welty, MD PhD FAHA
Associate Professor
Beth Isreal Deaconess Medical Center
Harvard Medical School of Medicine
330 Brookline Avenue, MADCO Building, Room 433
Boston, MA 02215
USA

Email: fwelty@bidmc.harvard.edu
Phone: (617) 632-7659

 

Catherine C. “Lynn” Hedrick, PhD FAHA
Professor
Division of Inflammation Biology
La Jolla Institute for Allergy & Immunology
9420 Athena Circle
La Jolla, CA 92037
USA

Email: hedrick@liai.org
Phone: (858) 752-6500

 

Daisy Sahoo, PhD
Associate Professor
H4930 Health Research Center
Division of Endocrinology
Department of Medicine
Medical College of Wisconsin
8701 W. Watertown Plank Road
Milwaukee, WI 53226
USA

Email: dsahoo@mcw.edu
Phone: (414) 955-7414

 

Mahdi Garelnabi, PhD MSc FAHA
Associate Professor
Department of Clinical Lab and Nutritional Science
College of Health Sciences
University of Massachusetts Lowell
3 Solomont Way, Suite 4
Lowell, MA 01854
Research Lab
ETIC Rooms: 204-204A
40 University Avenue
Lowell, MA 01854
USA

Email: Mahdi_Garelnabi@uml.edu
Phone: (978) 934-4528

 

Joseph Italiano, PhD
Brigham & Women’s Hospital
Karp Family Res. Building
6th Floor, Room 214
1 Blackfan Circle
Boston, MA 02115
USA

Email: jitaliano@rics.bwh.harvard.edu
Phone: (617) 355-9007

Members at Large

Annabelle Rodriguez Oquendo, MD, FAHA
Professor of Cell Biology
Linda and David Roth Chair of Cardiovascular Research Center for Vascular Biology
University of Connecticut Health Center
Farmington, CT 06030
USAEmail: rodriguezoquendo@uchc.edu
Phone: (860) 679-2463
Jorge DiPaola, MD
Associate Professor of Pediatrics and Genetics
University of Colorado School of Medicine
Postle Chair in Pediatric Cancer and Blood Disorders
Children’s Hospital Colorado
12800 E. 19th Avenue, MS 8302
Aurora, CO 80045
USAEmail: jorge.dipaola@ucdenver.edu
Phone: (303) 724-4000
Assistant: Tina Green
Assistant Email: tina.green@ucdenver.edu
Assistant Phone: (303) 724-4634
Alan T. Remaley, MD PhD
Lipoprotein Metabolism Section
Building 10, Room 2C433
10 Center Drive
Bethesda, MD 20892
USAEmail: aremaley1@mail.nih.gov
Phone: (301) 402-9796
Coleen A. McNamara, MD
Edward W. and Betty Knight Scripps
Professor of Medicine
Cardiovascular Division Cardiovascular Research
Center University of Virginia Health System
Room G231 MR5, 415 Lane Road
Charlottesville, VA 22908
USAEmail: CAM8C@hscmail.mcc.virginia.edu
Phone: (434) 243-8303

IMMEDIATE PAST CHAIR

Nigel Mackmanì, PhD FAHA
John C. Parker Distinguished Professor of Medicine
Director of the UNC McAllister Heart Institute
Co-Director of the Thrombosis & Hemostasis Program
Division of Hematology/Oncology
335A Mary Ellen Jones Building
University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
98 Manning Drive, CB#7035
Chapel Hill, NC 27599
USAEmail: nigel_mackman@med.unc.edu
Phone: (919) 843-3961
Assistant: Christine Hill
Assistant Email: Christine_hill@med.unc.edu

LIAISONS

J. Evan Sadler, MD PhD

Professor
Department of Biochemistry & Molecular Biophysics
Hematology Division
Washington University Medical School
Campus Box 8125
660 S. Euclid Avenue
St. Louis, MO 63110
USA

Email: esadler@dom.wustl.edu
Phone: (314) 362-9067

Zorina Galis, PhD.

Chief, Vascular Biology and Hypertension Branch
Division of Cardiovascular Sciences
National Heart Lung and Blood Institute
6701 Rockledge Drive, Room 8116, MSC 7940
Bethesda, MD 20892-7940
USA

Email: zorina.galis@nih.gov
Phone: (301) 435-0560

Muredach P. Reilly, MB MS FAHA

Professor of Medicine and Pharmacology
Cardiovascular Institute
Perelman School of Medicine
University of Pennsylvania
11-136 Smilow Center for Translational Research
3400 Civic Center Boulevard, Building 421
Philadelphia, PA 19104
USA

Email: muredach@mail.med.upenn.edu
Tel: (215) 573-1214

Aruna D. Pradhan, MD MPH

Assistant Professor of Medicine
Division of Preventive Medicine
Brigham and Women’s Hospital
Harvard Medical School
900 Commonwealth Avenue E.
Boston, MA 02215
USA

Email: apradhan@partners.org
Phone: (617) 732-8777

STAFF / PROFESSOR

Tatiana V. Byzova, PhD FAHA
Director, Angiogenesis Center
Vice-chair, Department of Molecular Cardiology
Taussig Cancer Center, Lerner Research Institute
Cleveland Clinic
9500 Euclid Avenue, NB50
Cleveland OH 44195
USAEmail: BYZOVAT@ccf.org
Phone: (216) 445-4312

STAFF

Dena Thomas
Program Manager
American Heart Association
7272 Greenville Avenue
Dallas, TX 75231-4596
USA

Email: dena.thomas@heart.org
Phone: (214) 706-1476

Katherine Sheehan, PhD
Science & Medicine Advisor
American Heart Association
7272 Greenville Avenue
Dallas, TX 75231
USA

Email: katherine.sheehan@heart.org
Phone: (214) 706-1805

John B. Ponzio
Director, Professional Membership, Science Marketing, and Data Services
American Heart Association
7272 Greenville Avenue
Dallas, TX 75231-4596
USA

Email: john.ponzio@heart.org
Phone: (214) 706-1933

Katie Korte
Senior Marketing Manager
American Heart Association
7272 Greenville Avenue
Dallas, TX 75231
USA

Email: katie.korte@heart.org
Phone: (210) 416-1813

Gayle R. Whitman, RN PhD FAAN FAHA
Senior Vice President, Science Operations
American Heart Association
7272 Greenville Avenue
Dallas, TX 75231
USA

Email: gayle.r.whitman@heart.org
Phone: (214) 706-1174

EX-OFFICIO

Mark A. Creager, MD FAHA
Director, Heart and Vascular Center
Dartmouth-Hitchcock Medical Center
One Medical Center Drive
Lebanon, NH 03756-0001
USA

Email: mark.a.creager@hitchcock.org
Phone: (603) 650-8283

AHA President

Steven R. Houser, PhD FAHA
Director, Cardiovascular Research Center
Temple University School of Medicine
Cardiovascular Research Center
3400 N. Broad Street
Philadelphia, PA 19140-5104
USA

Email: srhouser@temple.edu
Phone: (215) 707-3278

AHA President-Elect

Elliott Antman, MD FAHA
Professor of Medicine
Associate Dean for Clinical/Translational Research
Harvard Medical School
Senior Investigator, TIMI Study Group
Brigham and Women’s Hospital, Boston
75 Francis Street
Boston, MA 02115-6106
USA

Email: eantman@rics.bwh.harvard.edu
Phone: (617) 732-7149

AHA Immediate Past President

Jane E. Freedman, MD
Professor of Medicine
Director, Translational Research
UMass Memorial Heart & Vascular Center
University of Massachusetts Medical School
The Albert Sherman Center, 7th Floor West, AS7-1051
368 Plantation Street
Worcester, MA 01605-4319
USA

Email: jane.freedman@umassmed.edu
Phone (508) 856-6961

Mission Statement
The Council on Arteriosclerosis, Thrombosis and Vascular Biology contributes to the mission and objectives of the American Heart Association through efforts in the fields of arteriosclerosis, thrombosis and vascular biology. The council advances and coordinates research, addresses prevention, improves methods for diagnosis and treatment and works actively with other organizations concerned with these problems. The council disseminates reliable information related to these fields through its annual conference, many awards and lectures, and the Journal on Arteriosclerosis, Thrombosis and Vascular Biology.